College Announces Changes to Board of Trustees

On July 1, the college welcomed Thomas M. Belk ’77, Noriko Honda Chen ’89, Cooper Campbell Jackson ’89, Jonathan D. Sokoloff ’79 and Mark R. Tercek ’79 to its Board of Trustees.

Belk is the chairman and CEO of Belk, Inc., the largest family-owned department store business in the U.S. He’s served as president of the Williams Regional Association of Charlotte, N.C., as a member of the Charlotte Special Gifts Committee during the Third Century Campaign (1993) and as an admissions representative.

Chen is a portfolio manager and partner at Capital Group. She currently serves on the college’s Marketable Assets Advisory Committee. She is an honorary trustee and former vice chair of The Women’s Foundation, a Hong Kong-based nonprofit that funds research, education and advocacy to improve the lives of women and girls.

Jackson, who was elected by the Society of Alumni and appointed by the trustees, is the senior vice president for worldwide business affairs in the home entertainment division of Twentieth Century Fox, where she negotiates licenses, acquisitions and strategic partnerships related to the distribution of films in digital media. She is president of the Class of 1989 and has served as a Williams class agent and associate agent, Alumni Fund vice chair, and chair of her class’s 25th Reunion Fund Committee.

Sokoloff is a managing partner of Leonard Green & Partners, one of the nation’s leading private equity firms. He has served on the college’s Trustee Non-Marketable Assets Advisory Committee since 2001 and was a member of the Los Angeles Regional Fund Committee during Climb Far: The Williams Campaign (2004-2008), a class associate agent and a member of his class’s 25th Reunion Fund Committee.

Tercek is the CEO of The Nature Conservancy, the biggest environmental non-governmental organization in the world. He is also the author of the best-selling book Nature’s Fortune: How Business and Society Thrive by Investing in Nature. He has served as a class associate agent and on his class’s 25th Reunion Fund Committee.

Reappointed to the board were O. Andreas Halvorsen ’86 and Liz Robinson ’90. Stephen Harty ’73, Barbara A. Austell ’75, Robert G. Scott ’68 and Brian D. Carpenter ’86 stepped down from the board when their terms ended on June 30.