Williams to Honor Five Bicentennial Medalists

During Fall Convocation on Sept. 8, the college will award five alumni with Bicentennial Medals for “significant achievement in any field of endeavor.” This year’s medalists are: Erin I. Burnett ’98, a TV journalist and the host of CNN’s Erin Burnett OutFront; Kathleen A. Merrigan ’82, deputy secretary of the U.S. Department of Agriculture and an influential force behind federal organic food standards; David S. Paresky ’60, a travel industry pioneer and philanthropist; Norman P. Spack ’65, an internationally recognized pediatric endocrinologist; and Charles N. Waigi ’72, founding director of the nationally acclaimed Jeremy Academy in his hometown of Limuru, Kenya. On Sept. 7 the honorees (with the exception of Burnett, who is hosting her show that day) will participate in a panel discussion at the ’62 Center MainStage. Check www.williams.edu later in the summer for more information.